Early Voting 2023 Starts Monday for Commissioner and City Elections

Photo of a Georgia flag in the background with a voter box in the foreground (stock photo).
(stock photo)

Henry County residents can begin early voting on Monday, October 16, for the 2023 city elections. Also on the ballot is the district 2 special election.

City elections are taking place in Hampton, McDonough and Stockbridge. There is no election in Locust Grove because no challengers qualified to run for office.

Early Voting 2023

Henry County voters may early vote at any location below.

  • Heritage Park, 99 Lake Dow Road, McDonough **New Location for 2023**,
  • Merle Manders Conference Center, 111 Davis Road, Stockbridge,
  • Fortson Library, 61 McDonough St, Hampton, and
  • Locust Grove Library, 115 MLK Jr Blvd, Locust Grove.

Early voting is available during the following dates and times:

  • October 16 – October 20, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 21, 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
  • Sunday, October 22, 1:00 pm – 5:00 pm
  • October 23 – October 27, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 28, 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
  • October 30 – November 3, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm

In addition, two more locations will be available during the final week: October 30 – November 3. They are JP Moseley Recreation Center and Fairview Recreation Center.


Voters in the city limits of Hampton, McDonough and Stockbridge have council positions on the ballot. Hampton has at-large positions — everyone votes for the whole council — whereas Stockbridge has district-based positions. McDonough has a combination of both at-large and district positions.

All city positions are for a four-year term. They are non-partisan positions.


Hampton voters may choose up to three (3) names on their ballot. Candidates include the following:

  • Pam Duchesne
  • Victoria Hill
  • Marty Meeks (I)
  • Errol Mitchell
  • Charlie Varner
  • Kesha White-Williams


In McDonough, voters have one at-large seat on the ballot. All city voters may cast a ballot for this position. Half of the city will also have their district representative on the ballot. Candidates are as follows:

Council At-Large
  • Isaac Darryl Peyton
  • Benjamin W. Pruett (I)
District 3
  • Carlos M. Mora, Jr.
  • Alan Scott Reeves (I)
District 4
  • Quantavia C. Dunigan
  • Kamali Varner (I)


Finally, Stockbridge has three district elections on the ballot. This is the first time Stockbridge will have district-based elections. The city moved to council districts as part of the 2022 annexation.

Stockbridge districts 3, 4 and 5 are on the ballot. Candidates include:

District 3
  • John Blount (I)
  • Kyle D. Berry, Sr.
District 4
  • Yolanda Barber (I)
  • Keith Evans
Dist. 5
  • Elton Alexander (I)
  • Stephen P. Baffic
  • Antonio Harris

Residents can visit the Stockbridge city website here for a district map.

Commissioner Election

Last but not least, voters in district 2 have a special election for county commissioner. The winner will finish the current term, or until December 2024. The candidates are below:

  • Daniel L. Edwards Jr.
  • Bruce B. Holmes
  • Neat Robinson (I)

District 2 represents portions of the Dutchtown, Fairview and Stockbridge communities.

Featured image shows a ballot being cast in front of the Georgia state flag. Stock photo.

About Clayton 1477 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of MHF News. He founded the site in 2017 to highlight transportation projects. Over time, he began covering other topics like new development so residents can best know what’s happening in our community.