District 2 Commissioner Advances to Runoff; City Council Results

Graphic for Henry County Election Results

Henry County voters cast their ballots for district 2 commissioner and city council seats on November 7. The district 2 commissioner race will advance to a runoff.

At least one newcomer each will be joining the city councils in Hampton, McDonough and Stockbridge. There was no election in Locust Grove because no challengers qualified to run.

District 2 Commissioner Runoff

In the race to succeed Commissioner Dee Clemmons, interim Commissioner Neat Robinson received the most votes. However, she did not reach 50%. Commissioner Robinson and former Commissioner Bruce Holmes will advance to a runoff on December 5.

The vote tallies were as follows:

  • Neat Robinson (I) – 2,053 votes or 45%
  • Bruce Holmes – 1,724 votes or 37%
  • Daniel Edwards, Jr. – 830 votes or 18%

District 2 represents portions of the Dutchtown, Fairview and Stockbridge communities. The runoff winner will fill the remainder of the term, or until December 2024.

City Council Elections

City council positions are for a four-year term, or until December 2027.


Voters elect three council members from an at-large list in Hampton. Two incumbents, Henry Byrd and Mary Ann Mitcham, chose not to seek another term. The third incumbent, Marty Meeks, won re-election. Two new council members will be joining him. Voters cast the ballots for the below tallies:

  • Kesha White-Williams – 468 votes or 22%
  • Marty Meeks (I) – 456 votes or 22%
  • Pamela Duchesne – 379 votes or 18%
  • Charlie Varner – 365 votes or 17%
  • Errol Mitchell – 328 votes or 16%
  • Victoria Hill – 92 votes or 4%

Winners denoted in bold.

Also in Hampton, voters approved a variety of homestead exemptions. The exemptions will reduce homeowners’ city property tax bills starting in 2024. Each exemption, a total of five ballot questions, passed with 85–94% yes.


McDonough will have a new at-large representative beginning in January. The two district-based members retained their seats in Tuesday’s election.

Council At-Large

  • Darryl Payton – 632 votes or 56%
  • Benjamin Pruett (I) – 488 votes or 44%

District 3

  • Scott Reeves (I) – 442 votes or 73%
  • Carlos Mora, Jr. – 160 votes or 27%

District 4

  • Kamali Varner (I) – 168 votes or 75%
  • Octavia Dunigan – 56 votes or 25%


For the first time, Stockbridge residents elected their council members based on districts. Three districts were on the ballot this year. Incumbents Elton Alexander and Yolanda Barber retained their seats; whereas, challenger Kyle Berry defeated John Blount.

District 3

  • Kyle Berry, Sr. – 246 votes or 51%
  • John Blount (I) – 241 votes or 49%

Distr. 4

  • Yolanda Barber (I) – 330 votes or 60%
  • Keith Evans – 220 votes or 40%

District 5

  • Elton Alexander (I) – 429 votes or 69%
  • Stephen Baffic – 143 votes or 23%
  • Antonio Harris – 53 votes or 8%

Locust Grove

Finally, Locust Grove had no election. For the second consecutive election, no challengers qualified to run. For this reason, Mayor Robert Price, council members Rudy Breedlove, Carlos Greer and Rod Shearouse automatically win re-election.

All results are considered unofficial until certified by the county board of elections. Featured image shows ”Henry County Election Results” graphic.

About Clayton 1447 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of MHF News. He founded the site in 2017 to highlight transportation projects. Over time, he began covering other topics like new development so residents can best know what’s happening in our community.