Runoff Election on June 21

Map showing local candidates and their districts for the June 21 runoff election (Clayton Carte graphic).
(Clayton Carte graphic)

Voters in Henry County will return to the polls next Tuesday, June 21, for two local primary runoffs. In addition, some statewide offices for the Democratic Party nominee advanced to runoffs as well as both parties’ nominee for Georgia’s 10th Congressional District. Local run-offs include County Commissioner district 5 (D) and State House district 117 (R).

All regular polling places will be open on Tuesday, June 21, from 7 am to 7 pm. Voters who did not participate in the May primary can still vote in the runoff. These voters can choose either party’s runoff to participate. Voters that cast ballots in May can vote, but must remain with the party ballot they chose in May.

June 21 Runoff

The June 21 runoff includes four statewide runoffs for the Democratic Party. The winner of each will appear on the November ballot alongside the Republican nominee.

  • Lieutenant Governor (D) — Kwanza Hall vs. Charlie Bailey
  • Secretary of State (D) — Bee Nguyen vs. Dee Hawkins-Haigler
  • Insurance Commissioner (D) — Raphael Baker vs. Janice Laws Robinson
  • Labor Commissioner (D) — William “Will” Boddie Jr. vs. Nicole Horn

In addition, residents in south and eastern Henry County can vote in the runoff for Georgia’s 10th District in Congress. Candidates from both parties advanced to a runoff for this seat.

  • 10th District (R) — Mike Collins vs. Vernon Jones
  • 10th District (D) — Tabitha Johnson-Green vs. Jessica Allison Fore

Finally, voters in the southern half of Henry County may reside in either county commissioner district 5 or state house district 117. Its important to remember all district maps are new this year following the census, so check the map above or my districts webpage if you are unsure in which district(s) you reside. Voters can also check the state’s My Voter Page to see a sample ballot.

Candidates for the local runoffs are as follows:

The winner of each race will advance to the November general election. Ed Toney (district 5 – R) and Demetrius Rucker (house 117 – D) await the winners.

Early Voting

Not able to make it to the polls next Tuesday? Voters can also early vote through Friday, June 17. Henry County voters may early vote at any of the following locations:

  • Henry County Elections Office, McDonough
  • Merle Manders Conference Center, Stockbridge
  • Fortson Library, Hampton
  • Locust Grove Library
  • Fairview Recreation Center

Early voting hours are 7 am to 7 pm throughout this week (Monday–Friday) at each location.

About Clayton 1529 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of MHF News. He founded the site in 2017 to highlight transportation projects. Over time, he began covering other topics like new development so residents can best know what’s happening in our community.