Contested races in Henry County

Photo of Georgia "I voted" stickers on a table
(Georgia Public Broadcasting photo)

With the start of early voting on Monday, October 12, and 36,000 applications for an absentee ballot to date (, here’s a look at the contested races in Henry County.

Voters may view a sample ballot specific to their home address and verify their polling place by visiting the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page. Election Day is Tuesday, November 3.

Photo of Georgia I voted stickers on a table (special photo)
(special photo)

Countywide Elections

All voters in Henry County will be asked to elect the Sheriff, County Commission Chair, and Clerk of Superior Court. Several other countywide elections, including district attorney and tax commissioner, are unopposed.

For Sheriff, the Democrat nominee is Reginald Scandrett (Facebook page | Website), who retired as Chief Deputy of the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office in June 2019. Republican nominee Jack Redlinger (Facebook page | Website) retired from Atlanta Police Department and presently works for Newton County Sheriff’s Office.

County Commission Chair June Wood (R) (Facebook page | Website) is seeking re-election to a second term. Prior to seeking public office, Wood retired from Georgia Power in 2013. Democratic challenger Carlotta Harrell (Facebook page | Website) has served on the Henry County Water Authority Board of Directors since 2012. She also served twenty years in law enforcement.

Three-term Clerk of Superior Court Barbara Harrison (R) (Facebook page | Website) is seeking re-election to a fourth term. Her challenger, Sabriya Hill (D) (Facebook page | Website), first ran in 2016 and is a police lieutenant with Clayton County Police Department.

District Races

District I Commissioner Johnny Wilson (R) (Facebook page | Website) is unopposed in his bid for a second term. Wilson is a retired firefighter from Henry County Fire Department.

District II Commissioner Dee Clemmons (D) (Facebook page | Website) has a challenger, Steve Richardson (R) (Facebook page | Website). District II represents southwest Henry County including all or part of Hampton, Luella, and Dutchtown.

Georgia General Assembly Candidates

Henry County is represented in the Georgia General Assembly by two state senators and eight state representatives. Six of the positions are contested this November.

Senate district 17 represents south-central Henry County — including all of Hampton, Locust Grove, and McDonough — and portions of Rockdale and Newton Counties. Republican incumbent and local attorney Brian Strickland (Facebook page | Website) is challenged by business owner Kelly Rose (D) (Facebook page | Website).

House district 73 in Hampton features Representative Karen Mathiak (R) (Facebook page | Website) and William Harris (D) (Facebook page | Website). House district 109 covering parts of Stockbridge, Union Grove and Ola has Representative Dale Rutledge (R) (Facebook page | Website) facing Regina Lewis-Ward (D) (Facebook page | Website).

In house district 110 representing parts of McDonough and southeast Henry County, Representative Andrew Welch is leaving office. Running to succeed him are Clint Crowe (R) (Facebook page | Website) and Ebony Carter (D) (Facebook page | Website).

House district 111 is unique as the only house district that’s entirely located within Henry County, but its boundaries cover parts of Locust Grove, Luella, McDonough, Dutchtown and Eagle’s Landing. Representative El-Mahdi Holly (D) (Facebook page | Website) is unopposed on the ballot; however, write-in candidate Robert Rockwood published his intent to be eligible in the local paper.

Finally, house district 130 covers parts of Locust Grove and Luella generally south of Bill Gardner Parkway and to the west of Georgia 42 and Locust Road. Representative David Knight (R) (Facebook page | Website) is opposed by Sheila Henley (D) (Facebook page | Website).

Senator Emanuel Jones (D) (senate district 10), Representative Sandra Givens Scott (D) (house 76), Representative Demetrius Douglas (D) (house 78) and Representative Pam Stephenson (D) (house 90) are unopposed on the November ballot.

References to areas of the county are based on the school clusters and their surrounding communities.

About Clayton 1477 Articles
Clayton Carte is the founder and owner of MHF News. He founded the site in 2017 to highlight transportation projects. Over time, he began covering other topics like new development so residents can best know what’s happening in our community.